The Franklin Expedition Mystery: Learning Materials

We offer many different learning materials designed to draw students into Canadian history, critical thinking and archival research.

The Franklin Expedition Website

The website introduces this history mystery and provides primary documents as well as images, maps, videos, and expert interpretations on the Franklin Mystery.

Mystery Quests

There are five MysteryQuests for the Franklin Mystery. Each mysteryquest is an interactive, user-friendly lesson designed for use by an individual or with a partner. Suggestions for adapting these resources for use by an entire class are found in the "Teacher Notes" attached to each MysteryQuest.

Teachers' Guide

We have created a teaching unit for senior secondary/undergraduate students. It is entitled Inuit & Explorers in the Search for Franklin: ‘Exhibiting’ Voices from the Past.

The teachers' guide includes a wide range of teacher support, including background materials, activity sheets and detailed lesson plans. Some suggestions are relevant for college and university classes. To access all of the teachers' guides for the Great Unsolved Mysteries in Canadian History, register here. When we send you your username and password, use that to login at the same page, and you will see the list of teachers' guides.

Videos for Educators

Finding Franklin: New Approaches to Teaching Canadian History, is a series of twelve videos related to The Franklin Mystery: Life and Death in the Arctic. These videos were developed for educators by The History Education Network, one of our partners.

Classroom Poster

We offer a free Franklin Mystery poster which is available online. The posters are available as PDF files and will require a PDF reader such as Adobe Acrobat Reader to be installed on your computer. Just download and print for your classroom on 11x17 inch paper (28 X 43 centimeters) or scale down to fit your printer paper!

Sunken ship

Le mystère de l’expédition Franklin : matériel pédagogique

Notre matériel pédagogique est offert sous divers formats conçus pour plonger les élèves dans l’histoire du Canada, la pensée critique et la recherche d’archives.

Le site web de l’expédition Franklin

Le site fournit une introduction ainsi que des sources, des illustrations, des cartes, des vidéos et des interprétations savantes sur le mystère Franklin.

Les CyberMystères

Il y a cinq CyberMystères portant sur le mystère Franklin. Chacun présente une leçon interactive et conviviale conçue pour une ou deux personnes. Les Notes pédagogiques incluses dans chacun des CyberMystères offrent des suggestions d’adaptation pour utilisation en classe.

Le guide pédagogique

Notre guide pédagogique, Les Inuits et les explorateurs à la recherche de Franklin : « exposer » les voix du passé, a été conçu pour le deuxième cycle du secondaire, le collégial et le premier cycle universitaire. Il procure aux enseignants divers types de soutien pédagogique dont des éléments de contexte, des feuilles d’activités et des plans détaillés de leçon. Quelques suggestions s’appliquent aux classes de niveaux collégial et universitaire.

Pour accéder à l’ensemble des guides pédagogiques des Grands Mystères de l’histoire canadienne, inscrivez-vous ici. Vous pourrez ensuite vous connecter à l’aide du nom d’utilisateur et du mot de passe que vous aurez reçus par courriel.

Des vidéos pour les enseignants

Trouver Franklin : Nouvelles approches pour enseigner l'histoire du Canada est une série de douze vidéos portant sur Le mystère Franklin : vivre et mourir en Arctique. Ces vidéos ont été mises en ligne par THEN/HiER, un de nos partenaires, à l’intention des enseignants. Veuillez noter que des sous-titres français seront bientôt disponibles.

Une affiche pour la classe

Nous vous offrons gratuitement une affiche du mystère Franklin (http://canadianmysteries.ca/images/posters/franklin.pdf). Vous n’avez qu’à l’imprimer sur du papier 28x43 cm (11x17 po) ou l’ajuster à la taille désirée. Les affiches sont en format PDF et requièrent le programme Adobe Reader pour pouvoir les ouvrir. Télécharger Acrobat Reader gratuitement.

Sunken ship