Interpretations of the Franklin mystery

This part of the web site will introduce you to notable experts on the history of the Franklin Expedition and their different interpretations on what happened to the men and ships of Franklin's party.

The audiotaped interviews with specialists, carried out between September 2013 and January 2014, offer an array of perspectives and interpretations by very knowledgeable people about various aspects of the Franklin Expedition, what it was trying to accomplish, what happened to the expedition, and why. To facilitate comparisons and contrasts between the different interpretations, each of the specialists was asked the same questions. Not surprisingly, the specialists do not always agree on all details although there is extensive agreement on a number of points.

The expert interpretations include:

Dorothy Eber, a journalist and author of a series of books based on Inuit oral history, including Encounters on the Passage: Inuit Meet the Explorers, published in 2008.

Ryan Harris and Jonathan Moore, underwater archaeologists with Parks Canada who have led series of notable interdisciplinary expeditions in search of the ships Erebus and Terror since 2008.

Louie Kamookak, a senior hunter of Gjoa Haven, Nunavut, participated in a series of expeditions in search of evidence of Franklin in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries, and is considered to have been more involved in the search than any other individual.

Professor Andrew Lambert of King's College London, a British naval historian and commentator for various British historical documentaries, whose book Franklin: Tragic Hero of Polar Navigation was published in 2009.

David Woodman, led a series of Arctic expeditions in search of evidence on Franklin's missing ships and men and authored Unravelling the Franklin Expedition, based on nineteenth century Inuit testimony.

Tom Zagon, an Environment Canada scientist who prepared a detailed study on the ice and climatological factors bearing upon the search for Franklin.

Questions

Each of these experts was asked the same seven questions:

  1. When and how did you first hear of the missing expedition of Sir John Franklin?
  2. What happened to Franklin's party?
  3. Why did they fail?
  4. Where are the ships?
  5. How do you know?
  6. Why do you care?
  7. What is the significance of Franklin's last expedition?
Sunken ship

Interprétations du mystère Franklin

Cette section du site vous permet faire la connaissance de quelques experts de l’histoire de l’expédition Franklin et de découvrir leurs diverses interprétations à propos de ce qui est arrivé aux hommes et aux navires de Franklin.

Les entrevues audio avec les spécialistes ont été réalisées entre septembre 2013 et janvier 2014. Elles fournissent une gamme de perspectives et d’interprétations présentées par des personnes bien informées sur divers aspects de l’expédition Franklin, ce qu’elle tentait d’accomplir, ce qui est arrivé et les raisons expliquant ce qui est arrivé. Pour vous aider à comparer les diverses interprétations, chacun des spécialistes a répondu aux mêmes questions. On ne s’étonnera pas que ces spécialistes ne soient pas toujours d’accord sur les détails même s’ils le sont sur un certain nombre de points.

Les experts :

Dorothy Eber, journaliste et auteure de plusieurs livres sur la tradition orale inuite, dont Encounters on the Passage: Inuit Meet the Explorers, publié en 2008.

Ryan Harris et Jonathan Moore, des archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada qui ont dirigé plusieurs grandes expéditions interdisciplinaires à la recherche des navires Erebus et Terrordepuis 2008.

Louie Kamookak , un chasseur expérimenté de Gjoa Haven au Nunavut, a participé à plusieurs expéditions à la recherche de preuves de l’expédition Franklin dans les années 1990 et 2000. En fait, il est considéré comme celui qui a probablement participé au plus grand nombre d’expéditions de recherche.

Le professeur Andrew Lambert du King’s College de Londres, un historien de la Marine britannique et le narrateur de divers documentaires sur l’histoire britannique. Son livre Franklin: Tragic Hero of Polar Navigation a été publié en 2009.

David Woodman a mené une série d’expéditions arctiques à la recherche de preuves liées aux navires et aux hommes de Franklin. Il a écrit Unravelling the Franklin Expedition, un livre basé sur des témoignages inuits du dix-neuvième siècle.

Tom Zagon, un scientifique au service d’Environnement Canada, a préparé une étude détaillée sur les facteurs liés aux glaces et au climat qui ont influencé les recherches pour trouver Franklin.

Questions

Chacun de ces experts a répondu aux sept mêmes questions :

  1. Quand et comment avez-vous entendu parler de la dernière expédition de sir John Franklin?
  2. Qu’est-il arrivé à l’équipage de Franklin?
  3. Pourquoi ont-ils échoué?
  4. Où sont les navires?
  5. Comment le savez-vous?
  6. Pourquoi cela vous importe-t-il?
  7. Quelle est l’importance de la dernière expédition de Franklin?
Sunken ship