Quick Access

Core Team Members

Merna Forster
Executive Director of Great Unsolved Mysteries in Canadian History

Email

Merna Forster

Merna Forster is an author, historian, photographer and former Parks Canada naturalist. She received degrees from the University of Alberta and Laval University, and is a recipient of the Richard J. Schmeelk Canada Fellowship.

A long-time employee of Parks Canada, Merna worked with national parks and national historic sites across Canada in the areas of public education programs, outreach and visitor services. She was also employed in the field of Canadian Studies during her career with the federal public service, and received the Canada 125 Commemorative Medal as well as an Alumni Recognition Award from the University of Alberta.

Merna Forster is the author of the book 100 Canadian Heroines: Famous and Forgotten Faces, 100 More Canadian Heroines, and a children's picture book called Children of the Prairie. She’s recently started writing travel articles, and her first story was published in Boulevard Magazine.

Website:

Accès rapide

Principaux membres de l’équipe

Merna Forster
Directrice administrative des Grands Mystères de l'histoire canadienne

Email

Merna Forster

Merna Forster est auteure, historienne et photographe. Elle a également travaillé comme naturaliste pour Parcs Canada. Diplômée de la University of Alberta et de l’Université Laval, elle est récipiendaire d’une bourse d’études Richard J. Schmeelk.

Employée de Parcs Canada pendant de nombreuses années, elle a collaboré aux programmes d'éducation publique, aux relations avec la communauté et aux services d’accueil de parcs et de sites historiques nationaux. Au cours de sa carrière dans la fonction publique canadienne, elle a aussi travaillé dans le domaine des études canadiennes. Merna a reçu la Médaille commémorative du 125e anniversaire ainsi qu’un prix de reconnaissance décerné aux diplômés de la University of Alberta.

Auteure de 100 Canadian Heroines: Famous and Forgotten Faces, de 100 More Canadian Heroines et d’un livre pour enfants, Children of the Prairie, Merna s’est récemment mise à l’écriture de chroniques de voyage et elle a signé sa première chronique dans Boulevard Magazine.

Pour mieux atteindre son objectif personnel, soit populariser l’histoire des femmes canadiennes, Merna a créé un site web pédagogique, heroines.ca, et elle fait de nombreuses présentations sur le sujet.

Site web personnel :